CPCA Members Elect New Board at Annual Conference and AGM

Canadian Paint and Coatings Association recently held its 105th Annual Conference and Annual General Meeting in Toronto, Ontario.
By CRM Staff
Ottawa, Ontario — June 7, 2018 — The Canadian Paint and Coatings Association (CPCA) recently held its 105th Annual Conference and Annual General Meeting in Toronto, Ontario.
The conference, titled “Challenges of Sustainable Industry,” included an informed program focused on innovation and sustainability initiatives such as research into bio-based polymers, ecologically responsible finishings, engineering product sustainability and the importance of biocides in coatings. Conference delegates engaged in discussions on circular economy initiatives, regulatory alignment, product stewardship and the regulatory challenges to sustainable manufacturing. As well, eight new members were elected to the CPCA Board of Directors.
“The CPCA Board of Directors strikes a great balance of new and returning members, all of whom bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the table,” comments Tim Vogel, CEO of Cloverdale Paint and Chair of the CPCA Board. “CPCA has embarked on a new three-year strategic plan focused on growth, and to achieve excellence in regulatory development and compliance, product stewardship, strategic communications, and organizational effectiveness. The Board is well equipped to support CPCA in their advocacy efforts for fair and effective regulations to help strengthen industry competitiveness while safeguarding human health and the environment.”     
The CPCA also held the 2018 annual Chair Industry Awards Dinner at the Hockey Hall of Fame. It recognized key individuals for their accomplishments and contributions to the Canadian paint and coatings industry. 
CPCA’s highest honour, the Roy Kennedy Outstanding Achievement Award, was presented to Pete Wilkinson, publisher of Canadian Finishing and Coatings Manufacturing Magazine (CFCM). 
The Industry Achievement Award was presented to Erik Bos of Sansin Corporation, Chris Currie of John E. Goudey Manufacturing Ltd, Steve Sides of American Coatings Association and Eric Vaillancourt of CANLAK. This award is presented to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated exceptional achievement in advancing the interests of the industry and the association’s objectives.
In addition, The Industry Statesman Award was presented to outstanding individuals who are retiring from their respective employers and have made a significant contribution to their respective companies and the industry. Recipients were Jeff Danneman of REICHHOLD, Rennie Herry of Goudey, Laura Johnston of Axalta, Ed Linton of Cloverdale Paint, Ron Nakamura of PPG Canada, Jean-Marc Pigeon of Inortech, Jean-Guy Rosa of PPG Canada and Ed Thompson of L.V. Lomas.
“CPCA has represented Canada’s paint and coatings industry for over a century. We are honoured to pay tribute to these dedicated women and men whose efforts have strengthened the quality and reputation of our member companies,” states Gary LeRoux, CPCA’s President and CEO.
The full Board slate for 2018–19 is as follows:
André Buisson (Société Laurentide)
Bruce Clatworthy (A.R. Monteith)
Doug Crabb (Duha Group)
Andy Doyle (American Coatings Association)
Mark Huisman (BASF Canada)
Brent Jamieson (Axalta Coating System
Curt Kaucher (Sherwin-Williams)
Sharon Kelly (KelCoatings)
Darrin Nobel (Home-Hardware Beauti-Tone)
Vince Rea (PPG Canada)
Jeff Snyder (AkzoNobel)
JF Tanguay (L.V. Lomas)
Richard Tremblay (Benjamin Moore)
Fred Veghelyi (OPC Polymers Canada)
Tim Vogel (Board Chair, Cloverdale Paint)
For more information, please visit canpaint.com

Sign-up for the Collision Repair daily e-zine and never miss a story –  SUBSCRIBE NOW FOR FREE!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.