Aftermarket Accolades: AIA High Fives for Kids announces 2019 scholarship recipients

Toronto, Ontario ⁠— The Automotive Industries Association (AIA) of Canada and the AIA High Fives for Kids Foundation have announced the names of students selected to receive its scholarship funds for 2019.

In 2019, AIA High Fives for Kids took over the responsibility for AIA Canada’s scholarship program, which distributes more than $27,000 to students from coast-to-coast and encourages students to pursue careers in the automotive aftermarket industry.

Recipients for the University of the Aftermarket Foundation Scholarship, valued at a $1,000 each, are:

  • Cody Bertholet, Assiniboine Community College
  • Jordan Portelance, Georgian College
  • Jordan Peltzer, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
  • Zachary Benham, Fanshawe College
  • Theresa Charbonneau, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
  • Alyssa Waddell, Thompson Rivers University
  • Basma Khan, Ryerson University
  • Michael Orenstrakh, University of Toronto
  • Shyla Dyer, Moncton High School
  • Annie Wang, College de Maisonneuve


The Arthur Paulin Automotive Scholarship, named after longtime AIA volunteer Arthur Paulin, who served on the Board of Directors for more than nine years, valued at $700, went to:

  • Jordan Portelance, Georgian College
  • Henry Stevenson, Georgian College
  • Elaha Amiri, York University
  • Eric Elvidge, Georgian College
  • Alexander Murray, Georgian College
  • Calen Tigley, Alberta Advanced Education ⁠— Apprenticeship and Industry Training
  • Jordan Peltzer, Southern Alberta Insitute of Technology


The High Fives for Kids Scholarship, which is open to children of AIA Canada members and valued at $1,000 each, was awarded to:

  • Kobe Peppler, Automotive Parts Distributors
  • Michael Hu, Wakefield Canada Inc.
  • Isa Khan, Wakefield Canada Inc.
  • Jenna Campbell, NAPA Auto Parts


AIA also hosts a program designed to provide additional funding of $1,500 to each of its divisions to use at their own discretion. Funds may be given directly to students in the form of scholarships, or as contributions to scholarship funds of local schools.

AIA’s Atlantic Division awarded $500 to Bailey Chapman from the University of PEI.

The Manitoba Division awarded a $1,500 scholarship to Mark Espayos of Assiniboine College. 

The Ontario Division awarded $700 to Matthew Almeida, Henry MacDonald and Bret Thomson of Georgian College.

Quebec handed out $500 to Sebastien Lafontaine of Centre Daniel-Johnson, and Phillipe Dube and Alexandre Girard of ÉMÉMM.

For more information on AIA Canada’s scholarship programs, click here.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Sign-up for the Collision Repair daily e-zine and never miss a story –  SUBSCRIBE NOW FOR FREE!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

previous arrow
next arrow

Recent Posts

Our other sites